The McKinnon The Beginning Book One Parts 1 and 2

“Nic, my friend, you think Fate is a witch? Just wait until you meet her sister Destiny.” ~ Connor Holden, Earl of Featherstone.

Every story has a beginning often driven by fate. The McKinnon Legends are no exception.

Ranay James presents the best selling series-starter The McKinnon The Beginning: Book 1 (Parts 1 and 2 combined).

Not your typical knight-in-shining-armor-rescues-damsel-in-distress-story, The McKinnon The Beginning (Parts 1 and 2) sets the reader on a journey of deep love, treachery, and mystery of the way time and space collide with characters that are believable.

Part 1:

It is the year of our Lord 1493, and King Henry VII has been seated on the English throne for eight years. He did not get there by chance alone. Nor has he stayed there with ease. He has his favorites, generously rewarding those who serve him well. Sir Nic McKinnon is at the top of that list.

For his faithful devotion, Nic finds himself graciously rewarded. That reward is the hand in marriage to the seventh Duchess of Seabridge. The only issue is Nic isn’t interested in the bounty, and taking a wife is certainly not in his plans. However, he understands that seeming ungrateful to Henry for his gift or disobeying a king’s command is never wise. Nic reluctantly agrees to marry, but living with his duchess was not one of Henry’s stipulations.

To that end, Nic’s plan is to marry the young duchess, and then leave her to her own designs. That is until he finds that she is in danger, so much so that she is fleeing for her very life. Nic is sworn to protect the king’s subjects who cannot protect themselves, but more than that, no one threatens what belongs to a McKinnon. She belongs to him by the king’s decree. The question now is not whether he marry her and leave her behind—the question is much more clear: can he keep her alive?

Part 2: 

The stage is set for the battle to secure Morgan’s birthright: the rich and lavishly appointed Seabridge Castle. Currently, the prosperous dukedom is in the hands of the lecherous Lord Brentwood who seized control after Morgan’s family was killed in a fatal fire.

Nic must fight to regain what Brentwood never had the right to possess. Will he succeed? Or will true evil prevail? There can be only one victor.

This love affair sets the foundation for a strong and solid family legacy that spans centuries in a ten-volume series, which is certain to take you away. Join them on their journey of growth as they ultimately evolve into the McKinnon Legends.


Prefer to order Part 1 and Part 2 as two separate books?


[image-caption-hover id=”9″]


[image-caption-hover id=”10″]


Comments (4)

  1. Dalia December 4, 2017 at 12:40 pm

    Hello! I have just finished reading The McKinnon, The Beginning & Unfnished Business. Love the series. I am looking forward to reading the following books in the series, but neither Barnes & Nobles or I Tune books have them. I don’t have a kindle so I usually read on these two other apps. Any idea if and when these two other book sellers will eventually get the other books in your series?

    • Ranay James December 12, 2017 at 8:47 am

      Hi, Dalia, Thank you for reaching out. It warms my heart to hear that readers enjoy the series!
      The other books were on all the platforms. Sales were slow on these distribution platforms and did not justify me keeping them there. So, I pulled them and have them exclusively on Amazon. By having them exclusive, Amazon’s search algorithms favor them over other author’s who have their works across all platforms and sales are more brisk as a results. Sad, unfair and diabolical but true…. There is a free app that you can use that will convert any electronic reading device into kindle capable. (phone, pad or computer). Click the link below to download.
      also, reach out to me on my email and I will send you a download code for book three (Shades of Grace) on audio.

      Again, thank you for supporting my work.

  2. Mary Valentin August 19, 2017 at 6:12 pm

    I ordered your book on Audible to get a pair of wireless headphones you were giving out at the East Texas Book Bash. I just listen to the book and I could not put it down. I love the story of Morgan and Nic. I already got the second book on audible. I so happy my wireless headphone broke that morning or I could have miss out on a great series.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *